EARS STT May'04 Workshop, Montreal

Technical Program

Saturday 15th/Sunday 16th May 2004

Saint-Maurice Room, Fairmont Queen Elizabeth Hotel, Montreal

Saturday Morning (15 May 2004)
9:00 Welcome(Phil Woodland/Rich Schwartz)
Schedule Changes etc.
Broadcast News English Transcription I, 9:30-10:40
9:30 Results with more BN data (PDF slides)
Long Nguyen, Bing Xiang, Spyros Matsoukas, Rich Schwartz, BBN
9:50 Cluster-dependent Modeling, Results on BN using multiple speaker-clustered models. (PDF slides)
Bing Xiang, Long Nguyen, Spyros Matsoukas, Rich Schwartz, BBN
10:20 Recent Progress in Broadcast News English Transcription (PDF slides)
D. Kim, Mark Gales, Ricky Chan, Phil Woodland, S. Umesh, Thomas Hain, Cambridge
10:40-11:10 Break
Broadcast News English Transcription II, 11:10-12:30
11:10 Ongoing Experiments with Lightly Supervised Discriminative Training (PDF slides)
Ricky Chan, Mark Gales, Phil Woodland, Cambridge
11:30 Lightly supervised training by quick transcription cleanup (PDF slides)
Anand Venkataraman, Dimitri Vergyri, Wen Wang, Ramana Rao Gadde, Martin Graciarena, Horacio Franco, Jing Zheng, Andreas Stolcke, SRI
12:00 Discussion on broadcast news transcription, 12:00-12:30
12:30-13:45 Lunch

Saturday Afternoon (15 May, 2004)
Acoustic Modelling / Improved Training Algroithms, 13:45-15:30
13:45 Update on Discriminative Training, Recent results with MPE, MMI (PDF slides)
Thomas Colthurst, Spyros Matsoukas, Owen Kimball, BBN
13:55 Precision Matrix Modelling for LVCSR (PDF slides)
Khe Chai Sim, Mark Gales, Cambridge
14:20 Decision-tree versus genonic clustering of HMM states (PDF slides)
Venkata Gadde, Dimitri Vergyri, Jing Zheng, Horacio Franco, SRI
14:30 Novel Approaches update (PDF slides)
Nelson Morgan, ICSI and Andreas Stolcke, SRI
15:00 Discussion on Acoustic Modelling / Training Algorithms, 15:00-15:30
15:30-16:00 Break
Language Modelling and Fast Algorithms, 16:00-17:20
16:00 Language Modelling Using Fisher Data (PDF slides)
Holger Schwenk, Gilles Adda, Jean-Luc Gauvain, LIMSI
16:15 Adaptive Language Models (PDF slides)
Langzhou Chen, Jean-Luc Gauvain, Lori Lamel, Gilles Adda, LIMSI
16:35 Reducing storage and computation in training (PDF slides)
Jeff Ma, Spyros Matsoukas, Rich Schwartz, BBN
16:55 Quick update on faster CTS decoding (PDF slides)
Andreas Stocke, Jing Zheng, SRI
17:05 Towards efficient cross-site system combination (PDF slides)
Rohit Prasad, Spyros Matsoukas, Rich Schwartz, BBN Jean-Luc Gauvain, Holger Schwenk, Lori Lamel, LIMSI
17:25 Discussion, 17:05-17:20

Sunday Morning (16 Dec, 2004)
Fisher Training and CTS Experiments I, 9:30-10:30
9:30 Using Fisher Data in CTS Training (PDF files)
Chia-lin Kao, Owen Kimball, Jeff Ma, Spyros Matsoukas, BBN
9:50 Experiments with Fisher Data (PDF slides)
Gunnar Evermann, Bin Jia, Kai Yu, David Mrva, Ricky Chan, Mark Gales, Phil Woodland, Cambridge University
10:20 Experiments with Fisher data (PDF slides)
Wen Wang, Andreas Stolcke, SRI
10:30-11:00 Break
Fisher Training and CTS Experiments II, 11:00-12:20
11:00 Training a 2300-hour Fisher System (PDF slides)
Brian Kingsbury, Stan Chen Lidia Mangu, Dan Povey, George Saon, Hagen Soltau Geoffrey Zweig, IBM
11:25 SRI-ICSI-UW Progress on Mandarin CTS (PDF slides)
Mei-Yuh Hwang, Xin Lei Ng, Ivan Bulyko, Mari Ostendorf, UW, Wen Wang, Jing Zheng, Andreas Stocke, SRI, Yan Huang, ICSI
11:45 Discussion on Fisher Training
12:20-13:35 Lunch

Sunday Afternoon (16 May, 2004)
Generalisation and Portability of EARS Recognisers, 13:35-14:05
13:35 Porting a CTS System to a New Domain: Adventures in Meeting Recognition (PDF slides, 4.2MB)
presented by Nikki Mirghafori, ICSI, SRI, UW
STT Scoring, 14:05-15:05
14:05 STT Scoring: Accounting for Transcription Ambiguity (PDFslides)
Jon Fiscus, NIST and Rich Schwartz, BBN
14:25 Discussion of Scoring Issues
15:05-15:20 Break
Discussion and Wrapup, 15:20-?16:20
15:20 Format of RT04F, Planning, Action Items
RT04F Facilities(PDF slides)
Geoffroy Zweig, IBM

Attendees: 
John Makhoul            BBN             makhoul@bbn.com
Rich Schwartz           BBN             schwartz@bbn.com
Long Nguyen             BBN             ln@bbn.com
Spyros Matsoukas        BBN             smatsouk@bbn.com
Thomas Colthurst        BBN             thomasc@bbn.com
Chia-lin Kao            BBN             ckao@bbn.com
Nicolae Duta            BBN             dutanico@bbn.com
Bing Xiang              BBN             bxiang@bbn.com
Rohit Prasad            BBN             rprasad@bbn.com
Owen Kimball            BBN             okimball@bbn.com

Phil Woodland           Cambridge       pcw@eng.cam.ac.uk
Mark Gales              Cambridge       mjfg@eng.cam.ac.uk
Gunnar Evermann         Cambridge       ge204@eng.cam.ac.uk
Ricky Chan              Cambridge       hyc27@eng.cam.ac.uk
Khe Chai Sim            Cambridge       kcs23@eng.cam.ac.uk
Lan Wang                Cambridge       lw256@eng.cam.ac.uk

Geoff Zweig             IBM             gzweig@us.ibm.com
Hagen Soltau            IBM             hsoltau@us.ibm.com
Brian Kingsbury         IBM             bedk@us.ibm.com
Dan Povey               IBM             dpovey@us.ibm.com

Nelson Morgan           ICSI            morgan@icsi.berkeley.edu
Qifeng Zhu              ICSI            qifeng@icsi.berkeley.edu
Nikki Mirghafori        ICSI            nikki@icsi.berkeley.edu

Jean Luc Gauvain        LIMSI           gauvain@limsi.fr
Lori Lamel              LIMSI           lamel@limsi.fr
Holger Schwenk          LIMSI           Holger.Schwenk@limsi.fr
Langzhou Chen           LIMSI           clz@limsi.fr
Fabrice Lefevre         LIMSI           lefevre@limsi.fr

Jonathan Fiscus         NIST            jfiscus@nist.gov

Andreas Stolcke         SRI/ICSI        stolcke@speech.sri.com
Anand Venkatarman       SRI             anand@speech.sri.com
Horacio Franco          SRI             hef@speech.sri.com
Jing Zheng              SRI             zj@speech.sri.com
Dimitra Vergyri         SRI             dverg@speech.sri.com
Ramana Gadde            SRI             rao@speech.sri.com
Martin Graciarena       SRI             martin@speech.sri.com

Ivan Bulyko             UW              bulyko@ssli.ee.washington.edu
Mei-yuh Hwang           UW              mhwang@ssli.ee.washington.edu
Mari Ostendorf          UW              mo@ssli.ee.washington.edu