EARS STT March'05 Workshop, Philadelphia

Technical Program

Thursday 24th March 2005

Salon I, Mariott Hotel, Philadelphia

Thursday Morning (24 March 2005)
8:00-9:00 Breakfast
Acoustic Modeling - Modeling techniques, 9:00-11:00
9:00 A New Technique for Robust Estimation of Feature Normalisation Parameters (PPT slides)
Venkata Ramana Rao Gadde, Andreas Stolcke, SRI
9:20 LIMSI Update (PDF slides)
Jean-Luc Gauvain, Lori Lamel, Gilles Adda, Eric Bilinski, Langzhou Chen, Abdel Messaoudi, Holger Schwenk, LIMSI
9:40 Improvements to fMPE Training (PPT slides)
Dave Povey , IBM
10:00 Progress in English Conversational Telephone Speech Transcription (PDF slides)
Khe Chai Sim, Mark Gales, Xunying Liu, Phil Woodland, Kai Yu
10:30 Discussion, 10:30-11:00
11:00-11:20 Break
Acoustic Modeling II, 11:20-12:30
11:20 Recent BN-E Experiments in Cambridge (PDF slides)
Do Yeong Kim, Mark Gales, Phil Woodland, Cambridge
11:40 Progress in Arabic Broadcast News Transcription at BBN (PPT slides)
Mohamed Afify, Long Nguyen, John Makhoul, BBN
11:50 Post-RT04 work on Mandarin (PPT slides)
Jeff Ma, Spyros Matsoukas, BBN
12:00 Discussion, 12:00-12:30
12:30-13:30 Lunch

Thursday Afternoon (24 March, 2005)
Training Data, 13:30-15:30
13:30 Data Sampling for Acoustic Model Training (PTT slides)
Ozgur Cetin, Andreas Stolcke, Barbara Peskin, ICSI and SRI
13:50 Data Sampling and Progressive Training (PPT slides)
T. Shinozaki, Mari Ostendorf, UW
14:10 Effect of Explicitly Modeling Noise Words (PPT slides)
Chia-Lin Kao, Owen Kimball, Spyros Matsoukas, BBN
14:25 Update on Transcription of Fisher Phase II Data (PPT slides)
Owen Kimball, Chia-Lin Kao, Tresi Arvizo, John Makhoul, BBN
14:30 LDC Plans for Data (PPT slides)
Chris Cieri, Mohamed Maamouri, Shudong Huang, James Fiumara, Stephanie Strassel, David Graff, Kevin Walker, Mark Liberman, LDC
15:00 Discussion, 15:00-15:10
Language Modeling, 15:10-16:10
15:10 A Study of Some Factors Impacting SuperARV Language Modeling (PPT slides)
Wen Wang, Andreas Stolcke, Mary Harper, SRI and Purdue Univ.
15:30 Using Random Forests Language Models in IBM RT-04 CTS (PPT slides)
Peng Xu, Lidia Mangu, IBM
16:00 Discussion, 16:00-15:10
16:10-16:30 Break
Other, 16:30-18:00
16:30 Recent Work from the Novel Approaches Gang (PPT slides)
Nelson Morgan, ICSI, IDIAP, UW, Colombia, SRI
17:00 Determining Utility Thresholds for Information Extraction from Speech (PPT slides)
John Makhoul, Rich Schwartz, Alex Baron, Ivan Bulyko, Long Nguyen, Lance Ramshaw, Dave Stallard, Bing Xiang, BBN
17:30 Discussion, 17:30-18:00

Attendees: 
John Makhoul            BBN             makhoul@bbn.com
Rich Schwartz           BBN             schwartz@bbn.com
Long Nguyen             BBN             ln@bbn.com
Spyros Matsoukas        BBN             smatsouk@bbn.com
Owen Kimball            BBN             okimball@bbn.com
Bing Xiang              BBN             bxiang@bbn.com

Phil Woodland           Cambridge       pcw@eng.cam.ac.uk
Mark Gales              Cambridge       mjfg@eng.cam.ac.uk
Khe Chai Sim            Cambridge       kcs23@eng.cam.ac.uk
Do Yoeng Kim            Cambridge       dyk21@eng.cam.ac.uk

Geoff Zweig             IBM             gzweig@us.ibm.com
Hagen Soltau            IBM             hsoltau@us.ibm.com
Dan Povey               IBM             dpovey@us.ibm.com
Peng Xu                 IBM             xp@clsp.jhu.edu

Ozgur Cetin		ICSI		ocetin@icsi.berkeley.edu
Nelson Morgan           ICSI            morgan@icsi.berkeley.edu
Qifeng Zhu              ICSI            qifeng@icsi.berkeley.edu

Jean Luc Gauvain        LIMSI           gauvain@limsi.fr
Lori Lamel              LIMSI           lamel@limsi.fr

Horacio Franco          SRI             hef@speech.sri.com
Ramana Gadde            SRI             rao@speech.sri.com
Jing Zheng              SRI             zj@speech.sri.com
Andreas Stolcke         SRI/ICSI        stolcke@speech.sri.com

Mari Ostendorf          UW              mo@ssli.ee.washington.edu

Dan Ellis               Colombia        dpwe@ee.columbia.edu		

Chris Cieri		LDC             ccieri@ldc.upenn.edu
Stephanie Strassel	LDC		strassel@ldc.upenn.edu